Home » Finance » Banks » Vijaya Bank

Vijaya Bank

Vijaya Bank is a medium sized Public Sector Bank with presence across India. It is one of the nationalised banks in India. Vijaya Bank, was established by Shri. Attavar Balakrishna Shetty at Bunts Hostel in Mangalore on October 23, 1931. Since it was established on Vijayadashami Day, it was named ‘Vijaya Bank. The objective was to promote banking habits, thrift and entrepreneurship among the farming community of Dakshina Kannada district in Karnataka State. The bank became a scheduled bank in 1958. Vijaya Bank steadily grew into a large All India bank, with nine smaller banks merging with it during 1963-68. The bank wasnationalised on April 15, 1980.

  • Type : PSU
  • Industry : Banking
  • Founded : 1931
  • Headquarters : Bangalore

Website :  www.vijayabank.com 

Visit Site